A New Baby!

So a few weeks ago I was sat here writing a new blog entry, it was called My Top _ Goals for 2008, and included was things like “Get an A in my exams” and “Become and auntie”. I’d decided to write it and save it until the new year when I could post it and tick off the goals i’d acheived.

The next day I was sitting in the kitchen doing a crossword when my brother and his girlfriend called us in, “Tney’re getting married!” I thought.
He then announced that they were having a baby! I was going to be an auntie! Me and my mum burst into tears and there was lots of hugging. We then sat round drinking champaigne talking about this brand new baby. As it’s the first grandchild, it’s a bit exciting.
Out of all the goals I added to that list, that was the one I didn’t expect to happen!

So i’m starting a new feature. Each week off pregnancy I will update with progress etc. Right now my brothers girlfriend is Eight weeks gone, here is what happens at Eight weeks, according to Pampers:

 

From head to toes. Last week, the brain started to develop into three distinct structures. This week, other body parts are beginning: hands and feet are forming tiny webbed fingers and toes. And the tail your little one has been sporting starts to disappear.

Tummy works. The extremities aren’t the only things developing-the middle is making strides too. As the intestines form, a middle loop moves into the umbilical cord because there’s not enough room for it in the abdomen. Even at this early stage, the intestines are working to carry waste away from the body. A month from now, when there’s more room in your little one’s belly, the intestines will have moved back into the abdomen and out of the cord.

Live wire. If you could poke your little one’s body, you’d see it react with a jerk. This is because the developing nervous system is already communicating with the muscles.

Measuring up. Your tiny resident is about the size and shape of a large peanut, weighing in at about 0.25 gram and measuring anywhere from 7 to 17 millimetres.”

Leave a Reply

