Sex Role Stereotypes

I’ve been lazy for far too long. I can’t put it off any longer. I need to do a proper blog entry. I have had this on my mind for some while though, so it’ll be good to finally talk about it.

A few weeks ago a lovely lady came to my Psychology lesson to spent an hour an a half explaining to us that we shouldn’t put up with Sex Role Stereotypes. She drummed it into our heads that androgynous behaviour is completly natural and normal, and we shouldn’t be forced into typical roles.
But I actually don’t see what’s wrong with tradional roles.
I live in a house where my Mum does the Washing up, Ironing and Housework, where my dad does all the DIY and Building, and I personally don’t see what’s wrong with this.

If a man enjoys cooking, that’s fine. The same if a Woman enjoys DIY, but I just don’t think people should be taught from a young age that traditional roles are wrong.
Lately there has been a lot of emphasis on the “Modern Man”, with a lot of men even being critised if they don’t help out with the upkeep of the house, regardless if they take care of other jobs around the house or not.

And anyway, women are meant to do the housework, otherwise why else would their feet be so small.

4 Responses

  1. nn,nn.,nmn,m,mnmn,n,,.n,mn,,,mnn,,m,m,n,n,n,n,n,n,n,,mn,n,mnmn,n,m………………..,,,,,,,,,,,,,nnnnnnnnnnnnnnn,,,,,,,,,,,,,,nnnnnnnnnnnnnnn,,,,,,,,,,,,,nnnnnnnnnnnnnn this picture at the top is groos take it off no one needs to see the stuff put it away

  2. No reason to teach that traditional roles are right either.

  3. I just don’t see what’s wrong with them.
    Time and time again we’re being taught that traditional roles are to be avoided, but I just don’t think we should be afraid of conforming to them.

  4. ouch. I’m a 17 year old girl, trying to get into university. I don’t need anyone telling me that my feet are small so I can do house work. Please.

Leave a Reply

