Religious bands

A few years ago I was talking to my friend Jess over MSN, when she was telling about some new music she’d heard. She told my download the song “Everything” by Lifehouse. At first I wasn’t really into it, but after hearing it a few times I grew to love it, and it became one of my favourite songs. I passed it on to many other people, asking them to listen to it. I really did think it was a truly beautiful song.

A few months later and the song popped into my head, I wanted to listen to it but as we’d had a lot of computer breakyness around that time, I no longer had the MP3. I went to Youtube to watch the music video that accompanied it. It was there that I found out that song wasn’t a traditional love song like i’d first thought, it was about God.

For some reason, even though I previously loved that song, I now can’t listen to it. Or at least, it doesn’t have the same affect on me as it used to, and it actually gets me a little annoyed.

A few years ago I first heard the album Mercury, by Longview. Their music is very similar to that of Lifehouse, very touching and passionate love songs, very nice to listen to.
Unfortunatly, it’s just dawned on me that they too might be delusional God-botherers.

It sounds very shallow to say this, but I really hope they arn’t. The Mercury album brings back a lot of happy memories for me, I don’t want it to be linked to relgion and Christianity and stuff like that.
I’m almost certain that if I found out that this was what their music is about, I probably won’t be able to listen to that either.

4 Responses

  1. Maybe God is speaking to you, and he Loves you.

  2. How lovely.

  3. That is one possible explanation ckroboth, yes. But you have to admit – it’s fairly unlikely that if God wanted Lucy to listen to music, he would pick something she immediately dislikes once it transpires he has something to do with it. That’s a bit like sending someone flowers and signing the card ‘Love from Peter Sutcliff’.

  4. I have an album I adore from 8th grade that was christian-inspired… a lot of songs about love and dealing with relationships, but without the contrite lyrics of today where every fourth word is jesus… anyway, reading this post has reminded me of that album and I think i could listen to it again without that affecting my appreciation. I adore listening to music by Beethoven, regardless of his outside opinions on other matters, but yet, I also always have a little bit of a grudge against listening to Wagner, because of his anti-semitic views (which also directly influenced Hitler). Do I view Pablo Picasso’s work as less visionary because he was a womanizer? The art should be separate from the artist, and yet, the art CAME from the artist. Difficult call here.

Leave a Reply

